Nine executives apply for NBTC secretary-general function

Members only of 9 executives have applied for the position of secretary-general at the National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission (NBTC). Seven people submitted their purposes during the initial utility period running from March 20 to April 7, with a further two making use of in the course of the prolonged period, concluding May 7.
According to Dr Sarana Boonbaichaiyapruck, NBTC chairman, the brand new secretary-general might be announced by June 15. Among the first group of applicants have been Pakorn Apaphant, government director and member of the chief board of Geo-Informatics and Space Technology Development Agency, Trairat Viriyasirikul, the acting secretary-general of NBTC, and Kittisak Sriprasert, former president of CAT Telecom. Members only inside the preliminary group embody Thanatmet Phatnarongrat, a member of NBTC’s Performance Monitoring and Evaluation Committee, scholar Pisit Boonsrimuang, Dr Polawat Witoolkollachit, former chair of the KTB Computer Services board, and Surangkana Wayuparb, former CEO of the Electronic Transactions Development Agency.
Those applying in the course of the prolonged application interval have been Sutisak Tantayotin, the deputy secretary-general of NBTC, and Peerakan Kaewwongwattana, CEO of Airport Rail Link.
An NBTC management source, requesting anonymity, revealed that Pakorn and Kittisak showed essentially the most potential amongst external candidates, while Trairat appeared finest qualified among internal applicants for the function.
Speculation has arisen throughout the fee that Pakorn could have been personally invited by the chairman to use for the position. Despite some commissioners expressing dissent, Dr Sarana maintains that his choice method for recruiting a new secretary-general follows NBTC laws and his degree of authority and duty. The chairman’s plan involves proposing his chosen candidate to other NBTC commissioners for their consideration and approval.
Doubts persist among some commissioners over the compliance of this selection methodology with NBTC’s laws and regulations. Dr Sarana cited Section 61 of the NBTC Act that states the chairperson can appoint the secretary-general with the consent of the NBTC board. Dr Sarana reasoned that the secretary-general should work carefully with him, rendering it impractical if commissioners collectively select a candidate without his prior approval.
Some commissioners also expressed concern over whether the chosen candidate can achieve approval from a majority of the NBTC’s board, now at a full complement of seven members. It is recommended that some commissioners could not endorse the appointment. Commissioners objecting to the recruitment method anonymously stated the process might be seen as legally invalid because it by no means gained the board’s formal approval.
On March 7, the NBTC board held a meeting to prepare an agenda for selecting the following secretary-general. During this meeting, a selection method was individually proposed, however just for their acknowledgement, which stunned some commissioners who anticipated to contemplate each candidate qualifications and the choice procedure in the identical meeting.
Three commissioners current at the assembly – Dr Sarana, Pol Gen Nathathorn Prousoontorn, and Torpong Selanon – voted in favour of only considering the draft of candidate qualifications quite than both qualifications and the selection technique. The different three commissioners selected to not vote on the matter. As chairman, Dr Sarana cast a tiebreaking vote, leading to a 4-3 decision..

Leave a Comment